Staying relevant

The other day, I was in a meeting with one of my favorite clinets, Sven Lindblad. We were laughing over a diatribe launched by an environmentalist online earlier that day.

“I’ve written plenty of letters like that,” Sven said. “But In never send them. I put them in a drawer.”

Why not send them, someone asked.

“Because then you become irrelevant,” Sven said.

He’s right, of course, and that’s something I need to remain aware of. I tend to get caught up in the emotional aspects of a topic, and will make radical, passion-fueled pronouncements that can’t possibly be taken seriously. As my friend, Fred, once said, “No one listens to a shrieker.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

