New Yech City

I can now add a fresh item to my list of Negative New York City Experiences. It’s a list that already features such gems as having my apartment robbed, my car broken into, being hit by a bicycle messenger, a taxi accident, a blackout, a transit strike, two garbage strikes and a citation for drinking a beer on the subway.

Yesterday I stood at the turnstile of the downtown 28th Street station, fumbling with three Metrocards, trying to determine which still had sufficient funds. Just then, the train arrived in the station, adding a fresh sense of urgency to the matter. At that very moment, it happened…a rat dashed over my right foot.

This was not some cute little Samuel Whiskers/Wind In The Willows rat. This was a big, fat, nasty-ass. city rat. And it was moving fast. A brown, furry streak of lightening.

It scurried over my foot, across the station and squeezed under a closed door, barely giving me the time to get as skeeved out as such a situation would warrant. That, and I had to make a dash for the train.

But at the end of the day, there was no harm done, and I have a new New York story to tell. The moral of the story is; never wear sandals in the city.

Leave a Reply

